i am from… celebrating heritage

005

Sololá, Guatemala – circa ’93

I am from a brew of freshly roasted coffee.
From the smell of tea tree oil and the jasmine outside.
Cilantro home-grown and limón freshly squeezed.
From a triangular dining room table that seats fifteen people.
A house worn in with well-loved nooks and too many books.
I am from jacaranda trees in bloom and a rainy season that brings everything to life.

I am from failing at pictures, because we’re a small village.
From sleeping in the mountains to watch shooting stars.
From belly laughs, midnight feasts, and happy half-birthdays.
Odious matching dresses with my mom and sister (only kidding – they were lovely).
From mom’s pancakes every Saturday morning.
I am from grammar fiends and a shared love for music and literature.

I wasn't lying about the matching dresses.

I wasn’t lying about the dresses. That is produce on my dress, people. Produce. I know you’re jealous.

I am from fields upon fields in Illinois and Ohio.
From sweet tea and pulled pork in the deep sultry South.
From English truffles and pudding; and maybe a duke.
From volcanoes and cold in luscious Guatemala.
From heaven on earth in southern México.
I am from anywhere and everywhere in between…

I am from tacos al pastor, mole negro, and fresh conchas from the panadería.
From competitive game-players; a life without screens.
From seeing the world from a very young age.
From outrageous road trip traditions; people who enjoy traveling together.
From music to sports; and books too, of course.
I am from a childhood of scraped up knees and playing ‘lost kids’.

001

I am from seventeen years spent in Latin America.
Fresh sushi in California to the snows of Colorado.
From the tropics of Asia to no home at all.
From awaiting my flight to the next far off place.
From an adopted family wherever I bed.
I am from life on the move and ecstatic reunions.

I am from regrets and mistakes made endlessly.
From exceedingly broken to truly redeemed.
From days I can’t face the world, to learning to trust.
From a family that supports and encourages when life gets hard.
From friends that become family when mine is far off.
I am from a Father who Loves unconditionally.

003

(Inspiration for this post came from She Loves Magazine.)

6 thoughts on “i am from… celebrating heritage

    • Thanks, Kev! I bet your ‘heritage’ would be so similar to mine; just add in Venezuela, and sub Haiti for Asia;)

      I’ll try to catch you on Skype one of these days…it has been far too long! I love you!

  1. “Ah, Jamie, this is delightful. Rich. In my memoir classes and on the blog, I encourage people to do the “I am from” thing. Actually I have changed it to “I am of____,” but it has the same impact/meaning. I encourage memoir writers to write a short version (just a few lines) as an epigram (short intro) to each of the short stories they include in their memoir. Tell your daughter I love what she has done.” This is from an author friend whose blog I read. Be encouraged. Also on my FB wall, Sharon Meier, another writing teacher, said, “Her writing is magnificent…so enjoyed.”

Leave a Reply

