I Love Kids, But…

Missionaries wear many different kinds of hats. The hats they wear usually have less to do with their actual abilities and more to do with the tasks they have no choice but doing {but have no qualifications, or sometimes not even a desire to do}. Things like: public speaking, grave-digging, delivering babies, suturing, putting dislocated limbs back in place…all in a days work. Ya know. The usual.

For the past 5 months, I’ve been wearing the ‘teacher hat. It’s not something I necessarily feel qualified to do, and I learn daily that it’s not something that comes very naturally or easily for me. Homeschooling is not an easy undertaking!

Last week, I was given a ‘single mom of 4 hat’ to wear on top of my teacher hat. Again, not really something I feel qualified to do. Although, we all go into a parenting situation thinking otherwise. Am I right? Doesn’t everybody think being a parent will be a piece of cake? I’m 22 years old. I definitely could be a mom; but not quite for the ages I was watching — a 6 year-old boy, a pre-teen girl, & two teenage girls. I’m not sure many people are qualified to “mum” those ages. Yes, I now use ‘mum’ as a verb. There’s just so much it encompasses!

{Giant chocolate trophies in Heaven await any parent to survive parenting ‘teenagerdom’}

Very soon into my career as a single mom, I realised it’s a good thing I don’t have children of my own; because I would not make a very nice mother yet. I learned some things about myself last week — all of which lead to a very dark, not-very-nice side of me:

  1. I have zero pity on children who get themselves stuck in sticky situations. Consequences, young human. Life is full of ’em. Get used to it.
  2. I can be easily coerced with back rubs or dessert. (Well, I might have already known this one already…)
  3. I do not have nearly enough grace to be a parent yet; which is perhaps partly why God has chosen for me to not yet procreate. He knows what He’s doing…
  4. I have no shame in having a child write flattering statements about me as a punishment for being snarky toward me.
  5. Lastly, I love kids…. but I sure am glad I get to give them back to their parents at the end of the day. 
At least we survived the week without mom and dad...

We survived with minor injuries.

...or did we?

…or did we?

2 thoughts on “I Love Kids, But…

Leave a Reply

