¡Viva La Independencia!

I live in a country where people will find any excuse to have a party. I hate it. It’s not in my nature at all. However, I am finding myself a lot more inspired to find reasons to celebrate life! Because it is Mexican Independence Day, I’m planning a full-on ‘grito’ celebration for these Asian-raised children who may never get a chance to experience the real thing — unless I get my say in the matter of them coming to visit me in Oaxaca. So I am going to go out on a wire to celebrate my home country, though I am far away, with a few alterations:

  1. We do not have local beauty queens to sing the national anthem horribly off-key, (although we all know I qualify – puh-lease).
  2. We do not have enough people to make a parade worthwhile, no cowboys to ride into town on their horses, and definitely no impressive fireworks.
  3. Although it can be easily arranged, I have chosen to veto the tradition of smashing flour-filled eggs on each others’ heads. You’re welcome, Belinda. That alteration is dedicated to you.

This year, my family will be celebrating Mexican Independence Day from 5 different countries. I don’t know how much each of the family members outside of Mexico will be able to celebrate, but I (family rep for Southeast Asia) have planned a cultural immersion evening; latino music and a Oaxacan feast with all the food we would typically have on the night of the Grito. Horchata, tacos, churros, and platanos fritos (fried plantains)! It will be my first attempt at trying to make all these dishes from scratch and so far away from all the ingredients I need. With all the Asian twists I’ll have to give it, it’s not promised to be very authentic, but it will at least temporarily satisfy my cravings.

How can you not love how festive they are for special days!

How can you not love how festive they are!

Most MKs have difficulty answering the question, “Where are you from?” For me, that question is easy. No matter how long I’ve lived outside of Oaxaca, I have always considered it to be my home. Although I will confess, some days I don’t feel like divulging my entire story to a stranger when they’re just trying to be polite, so I’ve come up with a short answer: “About an hour north of LA”. The difficulty lies in when they ask further questions about my schooling and family, then I have to fess up that I only lived in Simi Valley for 2 years. When people hear I grew up south of the border and notice my skin colour, I just know I’m not going to get out of that conversation for a good 15 minutes; and truthfully, sometimes I just don’t want to talk about it.

Do you ever wish your life were more boring so people would be less intrigued??

I sometimes feel like I’m alone in that sentiment…

I miss my Oaxaca sunsets with all my heart.

Although I’ve seen my fair share of the world, nothing holds my heart like this place.

En todo el mundo no puedes encontrar a una gente mas patriótico ni mas amable que los Méxicanos, y me siento orgullosa de ser considerado uno de ellos. Extraño celebrar este día tan especial con los que amo mas en todo el mundo. ¡Un día regresaré y celebraremos el Día de Independencia juntos otra vez! ¡¡¡¡Viva México cabrones!!!!

5 thoughts on “¡Viva La Independencia!

  1. You would love visiting where we live! It’s like a little Mexico. I think our population is about 75 % Hispanic, all the signs downtown are in Spanish only, and most jobs require or prefer that you be bilingual in Spanish (or Russian, as that’s about 15 % of the population …. random combination). You could get all the comfort food you want 🙂

    • That sounds wonderful! I’ll have to visit sometime! Makes me miss living in LA. I could find any ethnic food I wanted just by driving a certain amount of miles in any direction. Russian seems so random though! I mean, I’m sure LA has that downtown somewhere too, but I haven’t stumbled upon it. I remember that about visiting Seattle in May, though.

  2. Pingback: ¡Feliz Día de Independencia! | Bilinguish

  3. “Do you ever wish your life were more boring so people would be less intrigued?? I feel like I’m alone in that sentiment…”

    I do all the time 🙂 . . . when someone asks something about me, my first thoughts are: how much do I want to share with you . . . . how long do we have to talk and how much am I going to have to explain for you to “get it” ;). But like you sometimes I get caught out because the next question is “so where is your accent from”? :).

    Teri
    (You may have met my parents, Jason and Shirley 🙂

    • 🙂 I have met your parents! I was wondering who my Kiwi reader was;)

      Fortunately, I do not have a distinguished accent, so people can’t tell anything is different about me until they hear me speak fluent Spanish.

Leave a Reply

